“India WIN” – Probably that’s how short the 3rd Test Match (Day-Night) Lasted

England won the toss on Day 1 at the Sardar Patel Stadium also now known as the Narender Modi Stadium in Gujrat and elected to Bat first. Over a spin friendly track, the visitors opted to Bat and lasted for 48.4 overs in which they managed 112 Runs.

The spin duo from last match did the magic this time around as well. Axar Patel and Ravi Ashwin managed to run through the England batting order and picked up 9 wickets. Axar Patel picked up 6 wickets for 38 Runs, his personal best with England Team.

Joe Root Picks up 5 Wickets

Who would have imagined, India on a spin friendly track will be bowled out for 145 Runs. Joe Root, the England captain picked up 5 wickets for just 8 Runs in 6.2 overs, a magical spell he won’t forget.  Rohit Sharma was the star performer scoring 66 Runs and showing some momentum. This is just the second day we are talking…

England Bat again, Bowled Out for 81 Runs

A first ball wicket by Axar Patel started the England innings and then it was the same story of pins falling one-by-one. Only 3 England batsmen managed to get in double figures. Again, the star of this innings, Axar patel, picking up 5 wickets with Ashwin taking 4 wickets and 1 wicket with Sundar. England set  India an easy target of 49 Runs to win the third test match.

India finishes it off in under 8 overs

Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill came out all guns blazing and scored the 49 Runs in just 7.4 overs to take India home to a fantastic WIN. India now lead the 4 test match series, 2-1.

India vs England 3rd Test Match Scorecard

England 1st Innings Scorecard

Zak Crawley (lbw b Axar Patel)5384100
Dom Sibley (c Rohit Sharma b Ishant Sharma)0700
Jonny Bairstow (lbw b Axar Patel)0900
Joe Root (C) (lbw b Ravichandran Ashwin)173720
Ben Stokes (lbw b Axar Patel)62410
Ollie Pope (b Ravichandran Ashwin)11200
Ben Foakes (W) (b Axar Patel)125810
Jofra Archer (b Axar Patel)111820
Jack Leach (c Cheteshwar Pujara b Ravichandran Ashwin)31400
Stuart Broad (c Jasprit Bumrah b Axar Patel)32900
James Anderson0300
Ishant Sharma51261
Jasprit Bumrah63190
Axar Patel21.46386
Ravichandran Ashwin166263

India 1st Innings Scorecard

Rohit Sharma (lbw b Jack Leach)6696110
Shubman Gill (c Zak Crawley b Jofra Archer)115120
Cheteshwar Pujara (lbw b Jack Leach)0400
Virat Kohli (C) (b Jack Leach)275830
Ajinkya Rahane (lbw b Jack Leach)72510
Rishabh Pant (W) (c Ben Foakes b Joe Root)1800
Ravichandran Ashwin (c Zak Crawley b Joe Root)173230
Washington Sundar (b Joe Root)01200
Axar Patel (c Dom Sibley b Joe Root)0200
Ishant Sharma102001
Jasprit Bumrah (lbw b Joe Root)11200
James Anderson138200
Stuart Broad61160
Jofra Archer52241
Jack Leach202544
Ben Stokes30190
Joe Root6.2385

England 2nd Innings Scorecard

Zak Crawley (b Axar Patel)0100
Dom Sibley (c Rishabh Pant b Axar Patel)72500
Jonny Bairstow (b Axar Patel)0200
Joe Root (C) (lbw b Axar Patel)194500
Ben Stokes (lbw b Ravichandran Ashwin)253430
Ollie Pope (b Ravichandran Ashwin)121520
Ben Foakes (W) (lbw b Axar Patel)82800
Jofra Archer (lbw b Ravichandran Ashwin)0200
Jack Leach (c Ajinkya Rahane b Ravichandran Ashwin)92201
Stuart Broad1700
James Anderson (c Rishabh Pant b Washington Sundar)0300
Axar Patel150325
Ravichandran Ashwin153484
Washington Sundar0.4011

India 2nd Innings Scorecard

Rohit Sharma252531
Shubman Gill152111
Cheteshwar Pujara
Virat Kohli (C)
Ajinkya Rahane
Rishabh Pant (W)
Ravichandran Ashwin
Washington Sundar
Axar Patel
Ishant Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah
Jack Leach41150
Joe Root3.40250

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.