The Indian Super Cup for 2018: Everything you need to know

The Indian Super Cup for 2018 has already started from 15 March. This can as well be called to be the starting phase for the Super Cup, main club for knockout football competition in India. Hero MotoCorp sponsors the event and the official name for the game is Hero Super Cup. The qualifiers had started the game on 15 March and it will continue till 20 April, 2018 until the finale. The whole event is taking place in Bhubaneshwar at Kalinga Stadium.

Both the teams of I-League and Indian Super League are a part of this part. These two groups are the top group of professional football players in India. Each league has 10 teams for their own. The bottom four side has the qualifiers. The Super Cup is being played instead of the Federation Cup. Prior to the Super Cup, Federation Cup was considered to be one of the most top football knockout competition in the countries.

Trending: FIFA 2018 Teams

Indian Super Cup 2018

Indian Super Cup Teams

Total 16 teams have participated in the game. From both I-League as well as Indian Super League, six teams have participated are a part of the Super Cup while the qualifiers have also become a part of the game. The following teams from I-league have formed a part of the Qualification round:

  • Chennai City
  • Gokulam Kerala
  • Indian Arrows
  • Churchill Brothers

These teams from I-League have formed to be a part of the Main competition:

  • East Bengal
  • Mohun Bagan
  • Aizawal
  • Shillong Lajong
  • Minerva Punjab.

The following teams from the Indian Super League are a part of Qualification Round:

  • Delhi Gynamos
  • ATK
  • NorthEast United
  • Mumbai City

The following teams from the ISL will be a part of the Main Competition:

  • Bengaluru
  • Chennalyin
  • Goa
  • Pune City
  • Jamshedpur
  • Kerala Blasters

Indian Super Cup: The Game

Since all the games took place at the Kalinga Stadium of Bhuvaneshwar, here is a list of games that were played and will be played.

The Qualification round saw the following games:

  • On 15th March 2018, Delhi Dynamos competed against Churchill Brothers. And NorthEast United competed against Gokulamkerala.
  • On 16th March, Mumbai City and Indian Arrows played against each other. On the same day, ATK were against Chennai City.

The Round 16 which was announced on 12 March saw the following games:

  • Chennalyin played against Aizwal on 31st
  • Bengaluru played against Gokulam Kerala on 1st On the same day, Churchill Brothers competed Mohun Bagan.
  • Minerva Punjab and Jamshedpur competed on 2 April.
  • Goa and ATK competed on 3rd
  • Pune City and Shillong Lajong competed on 4th April
  • East Bengal and Mumbai City competed on 5th April
  • NEROCA and Kerala Blasters competed on 6th

Indian Super Cup Quarter Finals

The games for Quarter Finals are yet to be decided. However, Goa would be competing against Jamshedpur on 12 April. Another teams that have made it to the Quarter Finals include, Aizwal, Mohun Bagan, and Bengaluru.

The semi-finals of the game would be held on 16 and 17 April, 2018. The finals of the game has been fixed on 20 April, 208 and will be played at Kalinga Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.