Ind v Aus 4th Test – India create History after defeating Australia at Gabba after 3 decades

India became the second team after West Indies to beat Australia at Gabba. A historical test match that involved some heroic innings by Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and Rishabh Pant to see India through to their first win at Gabba ever.

India vs Australia 4th Test Summary

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first. With Marnus Labuschange, Steve Smith carrying some brilliant form, Australia setup a first inning score of 369/10. Labuschange scored a century and the captain Tim Paine chipped in with a half century. Indian bowlers, Thakur, Natarajan and Sundar took 3 wicket each.

Team India came into bat with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as their opening pair. Rohit managed to stick onto the wicket but eventually got out to Nathan Lyon’s beautiful delivery on 44 Runs. Highlight of the Indian innings was when Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur came into a partnership of over 100 runs. Both scored half centuries and made sure Australia had only a small lead of 33 Runs. Hazlewood was the star performer from the Australian line up and took 5/57 in his 24.4 overs.

Australians started their second innings on a strong note with Warner and Harris getting into a partnership of 89 Runs for the first wicket. Post Smith’s dismissal in the 55th over, team Australia survived only the next 20 overs and were bowled out for 294 Runs, setting India a target of 328 Runs to win the match.

Team India started shacky with Rohit Sharma losing out to Pat Cummins on a score of 7, India, 18/1. Shubman Gill and Pujara gave India the strength and went over a 100 run partnership to ensure a steady movement to the big target of 328 Runs. Rishabh Pant became the star batsman of the Indian innings after Gill and Pujara scoring 89 Runs not out and seeing India through to a wonderful win at Gabba. What a match!

India stole the series 2-1 after winning the test match at Gabba. Well played Team India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.